11 families of fallen officers receive Police Cross in remembrance

A sacred tradition of the Illinois Association of Police Chiefs is to recognize Illinois officers who died in the line of duty in the previous year. 

This year, 11 families of the fallen officers who died in 2020 and 2021 were presented with the Police Cross at the ILACP annual banquet on April 29 in Northbrook.  

Through this ceremony, ILACP joins law enforcement in making a commitment to never forget these officers who gave their lives to protect and serve their communities. The Board of Officers extends an invitation to family members to be a part of this important ceremony.  

Our special partner for the banquet this year was the 100 Club of Illinois, whose chief executive officer, Caitlyn Brennan, served as the master of ceremonies. A portion of the proceeds were donated to benefit the 100 Club of Illinois, whose mission is to provides resources, financial support, access to training, and moral support to both the families of first responders killed in the line of duty and active duty first responders throughout the state of Illinois.  

The Police Cross was presented by Immediate Past President Mitchell R. Davis III (Hazel Crest)

The officers listed below were remembered with the Police Cross presented to their families with the gratitude of all police chiefs in Illinois: 

Officer Joseph T. Cappello 
Melrose Park Police Department 
E.O.W. 04-24-2020 

Officer Gary Hibbs 
Chicago Heights Police Department 
E.O.W. 03-12-2021 

Senior Master Trooper Todd A. Hanneken 
Illinois State Police 

Lieutenant James Kouski 
Hometown Police Department 
E.O.W. 04-03-2021 

Officer Allen Giacchetti 
Cook County Sheriff’s Police 
E.O.W. 04-30-2021 

Officer Christopher Oberheim 
Champaign Police Department 
E.O.W. 05-19-2021  

Officer Brian Russell Pierce Jr. 
Brooklyn Police Department 
E.O.W. 08-04-2021 

Officer Ella French 
Chicago Police Department 
E.O.W. 08-07-2021 

Officer Tyler Timmins 
Pontoon Beach Police Department 
E.O.W. 10-26-2021 

Officer Sean Riley 
Wayne County Police Department 
E.O.W. 12-29-2021 

Sergeant Marlene Rittmanic 
Bradley Police Department