Traffic safety supporters honored at annual breakfast   

September 3, 2021

On Aug. 20, 2021, the 28th Annual Illinois Traffic Safety Challenge Awards Breakfast was held in Tinley Park. 

The 2021 ILACP Highway Safety Leadership Award was presented to Charlene Sligting-Yorke, of AAA, and Secretary of State Jesse White, who also served as the event’s keynote speaker. 

Charlene is pictured (above) with her husband Doug Yorke, an Illinois State Trooper, who celebrated with her at the event. Secretary White posed with ILACP President Mitchell R. Davis III (below). Both honorees have been major boosters of traffic safety initiatives for many years, and AAA has been a major supporter of the Illinois Traffic Safety Challenge. Several other awards were presented during the event to police departments and law enforcement officers from throughout the state. To see a gallery of images from the 28th Annual Illinois Traffic Safety Challenge Awards Breakfast, click the button below. 

See the gallery of images from the awards banquet here

About Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police  

Since 1941, ILACP has served as the professional development association for Chiefs of Police and other community leaders committed to public safety in Illinois. The statewide organization serves 1200 members working in more than 450 agencies, providing them with innovative services, training, and partnerships. ILACP advocates for legislation and policies that protect and improve police forces and the communities they serve.